
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING AN APPLICATION FOR BIRTH OR DEATH CERTIFICATE 

PLEASE READ INSTRUCTIONS AND ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS CAREFULLY. 

Properly Qualified Applicant (Qualified Applicant): Only a qualified applicant may obtain a birth or death record. A qualified applicant 

is defined by Texas Administrative Code Title 25 Chapter 181.1 (21) as the registrant, or immediate family member either by blood, 

marriage or adoption, his or her guardian, or his or her legal agent or representative. Local, state and federal law enforcement or 

governmental agencies and other persons may be designated as properly qualified applicants by demonstrating a direct and tangible 

interest in the record when the information in the record is necessary to implement a statutory provision or to protect a personal legal 

property right. 
Application for a Texas BIRTH Certificate 

 Complete all fields in the section labeled BIRTH.

 Enter the number of certificates you are requesting.

 Enter your relationship to the person named on the record.

 Enter the specific reason you are requesting the record.

 Enter your printed name.

 Enter your address.

 Enter your valid phone number where you can be reached during the day.

 Sign the application.

 Applicant’s VALID government-issued photo ID is required.

 Only certified copies will be issued.

 Certified copies of birth records are $23.00 each.
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Important note: If the record you are requesting is not a Collin County birth, you will receive an abstract or short-form copy. 

Abstract copies may not be suitable for all purposes. Please verify the type of birth record you need before submitting your 

request.  
Application for a Texas DEATH Certificate 

RECORDS FROM ANY STATE OTHER THAN TEXAS CANNOT BE ISSUED. 

ALL APPLICATIONS RECEIVED BY MAIL MUST INCLUDE THE NOTARIZED SWORN STATEMENT, A LEGIBLE PHOTOCOPY OF THE APPLICANT’S 

VALID GOVERNMENT-ISSUED PHOTO ID AND A CHECK OR MONEY ORDER FOR THE TOTAL AMOUNT DUE MADE PAYABLE TO: 

STACEY KEMP, COLLIN COUNTY CLERK 

APPLICATIONS RECEIVED WITHOUT THIS INFORMATION WILL NOT BE PROCESSED. 

STACEY KEMP, COUNTY CLERK 
2300 Bloomdale Road, Ste. 2106 

McKinney, TX 75071 

972-548-4185   ctyclerks@collincountytx.gov

 Complete all fields in the section labeled DEATH.

 Enter the number of certificates you are requesting.

 Enter your relationship to the person named on the record.

 Enter the specific reason you are requesting the record.

 Enter your printed name.

 Enter your address.

 Enter your valid phone number where you can be reached during the day.

 Sign the application.

 Applicant’s VALID government issued photo ID is required.

 Only certified copies will be issued.

 Certified copies of death records are $21.00 for the first copy and $4.00 for each additional copy of the same record

purchased at the same time.

se

The Collin County Clerk accepts cash, checks and all major credit/debit cards.   

A minimum fee of $2.00 will be applied to all credit and debit card transactions. 
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DEATH  FIRST CERTIFIED COPY $21.00 EACH   QUANTITY REQUESTED______ 

  

 

 

Stacey Kemp, County Clerk 
2300 Bloomdale Road, Ste. 2106 

McKinney, TX 75071 

972-548-4185   ctyclerks@collincountytx.gov

APPLICATION FOR BIRTH OR DEATH CERTIFICATE 

A NON-REFUNDABLE SEARCH FEE WILL APPLY FOR ALL RECORDS NOT FOUND. 

PLEASE READ INSTRUCTIONS AND ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS CAREFULLY. 

Additional certified copies of same record obtained at same time are $4.00 each. 

Your Relationship to Person Named on Record: ______________________________________________ 

Specific Reason for Requesting Record(s): ___________________________________________________ 

WARNING: THE PENALTY FOR KNOWINGLY MAKING A FALSE STATEMENT ON THIS FORM MAY BE PUNISHABLE BY 

2 – 10 YEARS IN PRISON AND A FINE UP TO $10,000 (Health and Safety 195.003) 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

Record Issued To _________________________________________       Date Issued ________________________ 

Type and Number of ID Presented ___________________________       Security Paper No.___________________ 

Record Issued By _______________________________ 

Applicant Printed Name: _________________________  

Applicant Signature: _____________________________ 

Applicant Address: ______________________________ 

______________________________________________ 

Applicant Phone Number: ________________________ 

Applicant Email Address: ________________________ 

Applicant understands an Abstract 

Birth Certificate may not be suitable 

for passport or other purposes. 

REFUNDS WILL NOT BE ISSUED. 

Initials: _________________ 

BIRTH  CERTIFIED COPY $23.00 EACH  QUANTITY REQUESTED______ 

If application is mailed, you must include the notarized 

sworn statement, a legible photocopy of your valid 

government-issued photo ID, and a check or money order 

for the total amount due made payable to: 

Stacey Kemp, Collin County Clerk 
mail to: 

2300 Bloomdale Road, Suite 2106 

McKinney, TX 75071 

07/18/2023 

First Name (Name on Record) Middle Name  Last Name  

Date of Birth   City of Birth     County of Birth 

Parent 1 - First Name    Middle Name    Last Name Before 1st Marriage 

Parent 2 - First Name    Middle Name   Last Name Before 1st Marriage 

First Name (Name on Record) Middle Name  Last Name  

Date of Death   City of Death     County of Death 

Parent 1 - First Name    Middle Name    Last Name Before 1st Marriage 

Parent 2 - First Name    Middle Name    Last Name Before 1st Marriage 



 

Stacey Kemp, County Clerk 

2300 Bloomdale Road, Ste. 2106 

McKinney, TX 75071 

972-548-4185   ctyclerks@collincountytx.gov 

SWORN STATEMENT 

I, ______________________________, declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of 

Texas that I am an authorized person as defined in Texas Administration Code Title 25 Chapter 181.1 (21), 

and am eligible to receive a certified copy of the birth or death certificate for the following individual(s): 

Full Name of Person on Record:                                                    Date of Birth/Death: 

______________________________________________________________________________________

_ 
Full Name of Applicant and Relationship to Person on Record: 

______________________________________________________________________________________

_ Identification Type and Number Presented to Notary: 

___________________________________________ 

___________________________ 

CERTIFICATE OF ACKNOWLEDGMENT 

THE STATE OF  ________________________ 

 

COUNTY OF  __________________________ 

 

Before me, _____________________________________, in and for said State and County, on this day personally 

appeared_______________________________________________ to be the person whose name I subscribed to 

the foregoing instrument and acknowledged to me that he/she executed the same for the purposes and 

consideration therein expressed. 

Given under my hand and seal of office this ________day of ___________, 20___. 

                      

________________________________________________             (Seal)            

Signature of Notary Public 

_________________________________________________ 

Printed Name of Notary 

___________________________________________ 

Signature of Applicant 

Complete and sign this statement in the presence of a Notary Public. 

07/18/2023 
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